3D on Slice - is it possible?

Hey guys,

This may be a stupid question, but does Slice/XBMC support 3D? I have a friend who rips his blu-rays to mkvs, would that be possible with 3D-blu-rays? Is all the 3D’ing done on the tv? As in “the source is only a weird looking mkv, but the tv knows how to display it in 3D”?

I’m new to 3D, so I apologize for my lack of technical knowledge (and language skills) - thanks in advance!

Yes 3D is supported and it will work only with a 3D TV. Depending of the model the TV will detect it or you have to switch the 3D on via remote yourself. But it’s all pretty straight forward.

Sweet, exactly the answer I was hoping for :smile:
Thanks for the quick reply, have an excellent friday night!

Looking forward to getting my Slice.

Quick question on the 3D playback, will Slice be able to play Full SBS or just Half SBS?

both :slight_smile: without a problem

Really? That would be great, I was under the impression that Kodi was cpu dependent on playing Full SBS.

More recently the Raspberry Pi firmware added the capability to playback MVC (multi view codec) there really aren’t very many platforms capable of playing those!

Is there a way to file the 3D movies separate from the main library?

I am having some issues with 3D playback. It seems that somehow the alignment of the two images is some how being shifted. So that the image is ghosting instead of popping out all 3D

Has anyone had trouble running Full Side by Side, 3840x1080? I have a few movies I’ve ripped using DVDfab, and play smoothly on my pc, but have had problems on my slice. One movie won’t even start and another displays it all blocky and pixelated.

Half SBS work great with no problems, love that it senses it and switches automatically to 3D, and the TV changes into 3D, then when I exit it goes back to 2D.

The hardware is only capable of playing 1080P30 video, it doesn’t handle full side by side (this requires twice the processing capability)