Kodi for the rich

The Project

I work in IT, the company owner approached me last month with a problem. He owns a lot of properties and wants his movies available at all properties at all times, most properties are remote and have very slow internet connections due to geography. (Think Mountains, Islands, etc)

Requirements I was given

• Cost was no object (within reason)
  • Downloading movies at each location is fine but would have to happen off hours as not to impact internet use during the day.
  • All movies/TV had to be purchased (his rules)
  • No DRM
  • RF remote would be best as many of the AV racks are in an adjacent room
  • The interface had to provide cover art, have an ipad app and look slick.
  • One of the 5 locations includes a Gulfstream Jet where downloading one movie would cost over $10,000 in internet fees. So i would need to mount an AP in the hanger connected to my own internet and make sure it ONLY used that internet to sync while still connecting to the jets internet for ipad controls. I also had to talk to the ground team to setup a power on scheduled for the unit so it had time to sync.

My plan:

• Get an unlimited cloud provided storage account with SFTP
  • Buy 400 Bluray movies and rip them
  • Start with 5 Slice boxes with 4TB HDD’s (later found out that they had to be mounted outside, so they are just set on top for now)
  • Write a python script that when the box was booted looks for the proper wireless, exits if it cant find it, syncs the movies from an online cloud provider if it can.

Steps taken so far.

So two weeks ago i started doing exactly that.